Touch Scrolling

Jun 16, 2010 at 2:32 AM

Hi, first of all i am new to programming in windows mobile... I am developing an application for windows mobile and i need to apply the touch gestures for scrolling, I don't know how i can make my forms scrollable, can any one help me out or guide me to some good tutorials...

All i need to do is make my forms scrollable with finger touch, cause they can only be scrolled from the scroll bars. But i can't find a way to do it.

if there is a way that i can do it using the fluid...

sorry if it's a silly question but i am still a beginner

Thanks for now.

Jun 16, 2010 at 3:24 PM
Edited Jun 16, 2010 at 3:26 PM

I've investigated a number of approaches for this, the simplest I've found is to use the managed wrappers for gesture support supplied by Microsoft - there is an Auto Gesture control you add to a form and specify a parent (the form) and a child (the large panel underneath that moves based on gestures) and all the gubbins is done for you.

A good starting point for this is http://code.msdn.microsoft.com/gestureswm

It does require WM6.x however, and if run on anything earlier will crash. It is also relatively choppy in terms of performance - it is simply moving the panel around on the form.

Fluid Controls does support a similar kind of behaviour, however does have a slightly higher learning curve, however when I got my head around it I've found it quite nice to work with. It will work on anything WM5 onwards, and I've found myself customising the Fluid source to a certain degree, such as allowing the FluidTemplate in a FluidListBox to determine the height of the item rather than the item itself (don't know why this wasn't done in the first place) - much to my detriment I'm sure when I need to merge these changes in with further releases :(